Journey update

Buh-Bye October…You were a long and very busy month.

Let me start off with the info I promised to give you in October, but didn’t.  Stats.

I started to blog  about my weight loss journey a couple of months ago.  The goal is to loose 59 unwanted, very annoying and clingy pounds.  Also, to change my eating habits, add more veggies and fruits and eat less meat and/or chicken.  I’m very happy to report that at this point I could probably become a vegetarian and not miss the meat or chicken.   I’ve added new foods that I absolutely love, tofu,tempeh and greek yogurt (Fage) to get my share of protein and have become a sweet potato and spinach junkie

Not to mention that my green smoothies  have a become a huge part of my new wellness plan.

green monster

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So here goes:

Start weight:  189 lbs  (I’m only 5feet tall or short so that’s a lot of weight for my little body)

Current weight:  178 lbs

Only 48 lbs to go!

Exercise:  walking  30minutes to an hour 3x each week and occasional yardwork.  On rainy days I may pop in a workout DVD.  I began a running program, C25K (couch to 5k) and completed my 2nd 5k this past weekend.  NO, No no I didn’t run all three miles but my goal is to do so in the near future. 

I do realize that some of the healthier food choices I’m making have higher amounts of fat but it’s the good fat you guys.  Don’t be afraid of the good fat! 

Healthy fats

Some of the choices are higher in carbs than I would prefer but they are still good for me.  My energy level has increased 100 %, and I’m sleeping like a baby (most nights).  AND! I love that I’ve been able to fit into some clothes in my closet that are a size or two smaller. So all in all, I’m happy.  I’m not rushing the weight loss by following a diet (been there, done that) but I am putting my focus on the quality of foods I eat.

November and December may be a bit challenging,  as there will be temptations everywhere, but I’m prepared.  It’s ok to splurge and eat the ‘not so good stuff’ once in a while in moderation.  This past weekend, while I was rushing around I snuck in two beef hamburgers, birthday cake and dulce de leche ice cream.  I even drank a coke and ate about 8 mini chocolate bars (IT WAS HALLOWEEN!)  BUTTTTT, because I’ve been walking and keeping super busy, I didn’t gain an ounce, am not bloated and am still on track.   Thank you Lord!  I feel great!

2 Comments

  1. Mirtha said,

    November 3, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Congratulations to you!

  2. Patricia said,

    November 3, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Hi Martha, Fabulous blog! Plus I see you have moved up to 97 points on Same, get the word out you need more votes!
    Thinking of you Love Patricia


Leave a Reply

