Cheeburger, Cheeburger!! Not!

My first attempt to make a veggie burger turned into mush.

But it did taste good.  So try to get past what it looks like and focus on the ingredients.  

In the processor went:  1/2 can black beans, onion, carrots, salt, pepper, garlic salt and breadcrumbs.

 

in the processor

in the processor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blend it all nice and smooth and somehow try to make a patty.  It kept sticking to my hands and wouldn’t let go.  Grill on a pan with olive oil for about 3-5 minutes, flip (that’s where it got messy).

a lil' mushy

a lil' mushy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I put the ‘burger’ on a multi grain thin roll (which saves 100 calories from 2slices of wheat bread), added spinach leaves, tomato, oh and smeared hummus on the thins.  I now add cilantro to my homemade hummus.

Black Bean veggie burger 003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could have just eaten it right from the spoon.  I love black beans.

Martica's 1st veggie burger

Martica's 1st veggie burger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No need for ketchup on this baby, because it had  a lot of flavor already.  Seriously, it’s good.

Black Bean veggie burger 005

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Messy, but good.   So if anyone out in the food blog world can tell me how I can make this without them being so mushy next time, I would greatly appreciate it. Who makes the best veggie burger (not frozen)???

BIG BIG SHOUT OUT to my friend Nathalie, who just finished her first TRIATHLON!!!  That really inspires me Natha.  I’m looking forward to when I can RUN my first 5k.  I did one last February but walked most of it, I was really out of shape.  But I’ve been working on the cardio  and c25k program.  Still working on week 2.  I haven’t been obsessed with the scale, although I have dropped a couple more pounds.  I can feel the inches I’ve lost in the clothes I’m wearing.  But more importantly, I have way more energy, am sleeping better and feel really good. 

Church was great yesterday as always…….remember that our God is bigger than our problems.

Enjoy your Monday!

Eat well, live long and try a veggie burger!

3 Comments

  1. Nathalie said,

    September 21, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Gracias Martica!!!!! I will let you know about the next one. I will LOVE to have you there with me. Te quiero mucho. Y te extraño.

  2. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 22, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    HOW MUCH DO YOU WEIGH ? PS. I DONT KNOW IF I SPELLED IT RIGHT.

  3. Janice said,

    September 22, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Just as long as it taste good, it doesn’t matter what it looks like. I’ve never made a veggie burger before, I’ll have to try it out


Leave a Reply

