Laughter…..no joke….can burn calories

Yesterday I was running around all day doing errands. I Started my morning going to my new women’s Bible study and got to meet all the ladies in my group. Powerful! That’s the word I would use to describe them all. Such strength and humor in the midst of their storms. I found it comforting hearing these women laugh even though they as I am, are going thru some challenges.

Did you know that research done at Vanderbilt University reports that

 …..no joke…..

laughing can help you burn calories. Laughter strengthens the immune system AND reduces food cravings…. Scientists have calculated that an hour of laughter can burn off as many calories as 30 minutes of weightlifting. Laughter also boosts levels of feel-good endorphins and cuts down on stress. So, it would take an hour of chortles to burn one chocolate bar.

I need to start doing some serious laughing!! HAHAAAHAAA!

 

My nephew Ryan always laughing! no wonder he's skinny :)

My nephew Ryan always laughing! no wonder he's skinny 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Today I had my yogurt and fruit for breakfast and then had breakfast for lunch.

 (insert laughter here) Ok, maybe not.

Breakfast sandwich

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Multigrain sandwich thin (100 calories)

I stopped using mayo on my sandwiches a long time ago. So I spread the thins with hummus.

Then topped it with: 1 egg white/cauliflower scramble and fat free cheese

Breakfast sandwich 002

 

 

 

 

 

 

Added 2 slices turkey bacon (70 calories)

Breakfast sandwich 003

 

 

 

 

 

 

Breakfast sandwich 006

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sooooo good

 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY RYAN!!! I LOVE YOU!

Eat well, live long and LAUGH!!

5 Comments

  1. karen said,

    September 18, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    laughter keeps you younger as well, per one study i read

  2. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 18, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    no need to put that picture of me.

  3. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 18, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    plus today is my B-DAY

  4. martica said,

    September 18, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I love that pic Ry…and I sent you a BD shout out!

  5. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 18, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    plus thank you for writing about my B-DAY


Leave a Reply

