My ‘Like/Hate/Love’ relationship with Peanut Butter

It looks like caramel. LOVE.  It doesn’t taste like caramel. DISLIKE!  I’ve never been a fan of Peanut Butter but now that I’m eating healthy, it’s one of those things I just had to add to my list.

So here’s how I went from like to love….very recently.  Like I said, I love the creamy texture, it looks like a nice dulce de leche.  So my mind was thinking aaahhh sweet, and then my tastebuds said, ooohhhh nutty.  I always envied people who took a tablespoon of PB and engulfed it.

But, since I’ve been working out, I found that I needed a boost pre and post workout.  I decided to try PB and apple (very basic, nothing new) as a post workout treat.  Actually, it’s not a treat, because when I finish my workouts, I’m feeling close to death and need instant protein and sugar.  The combo not only worked, but it really tastes YUM!  I mean really, who’d thunk it? NOT ME! 

healthy snack

healthy snack

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s high in calories but also has lots of protein so I’m keeping a watch on not eating too much of the stuff.  I was a bit hesitant at first, with the ‘peanut scare’ and all but decided to give it a try anyway.

The sweet and nutty combo for some reason was heavenly to my tastebuds.  Go figure.  What’s the best natural brand of PB out there?  Need suggestions because right now I’m using ‘Peter Pan’.

I gave my yogurt a break this morning and instead had 2 eggwhites/pureed cauliflower (scrambled), 2 slices turkey bacon and 1/2 whole wheat mini bagel.  This breakfast was not only yummy but kept me full from 9a thru 1p.  Sorry no pic, ate it quickly.  Oh and I was jonesin’ for some coffee, so I gave in and had a cup. 🙂 🙂

Last night, I was craving baked chicken and lots of veggies.

baked chicken marinaded in mojo,paprika

baked chicken marinaded in mojo,paprika

mmmm veggies

mmmm veggies

I love roasted asparagus

I love roasted asparagus

I’ve been alternating 2 ‘FIRM’ dvd’s as my workouts and I can really feel them in my butt, cuz it’s always sore.
ouch!

ouch!

It’s painful but I feel so good afterwards, like I really accomplished something!  
 Tonight I’m going for a walk around the hood. 
Is it me or is it getting darker earlier??
1 Comment

  1. Priscilla Castillo said,

    September 15, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I always wondered about that whole peanut butter/apple combo.. I mean I have heard things but I was hesitant in trying it.. but now I might have to give it a try..

    I do like peanut butter, especially the crunchy version..I am going to try to write down my food creations and pass them along.. usually I just eye ball everything.. but I will write down what I use

    Hope all is well on your end! Everything looks great here on the blog!

    Take care,
    Priscilla


Leave a Reply

