Somber 9/11 memories but a blessed day!

I remember exactly where I was eight years ago.  I was working in a travel agency and a colleague was in the kitchen area and started screaming!  We all ran in and were immediately glued to the tube watching those horrific scenes.  The media played and replayed those horrible images over and over and over again and I remember I couldn’t sleep for weeks.  I pray for every family that lost a loved one and those that survived but are forever haunted by the events.

Well, on a better note, today was a totally blessed day.  As are all days, but you know how we don’t actually acknowledge that.  My mom and her hubby called to invite me over for lunch at her place.  She said she was making something “special”.  No matter how much I tell her that I am eating “HEALTHY” now, she just doesn’t get that.  Let me explain.  I am Cuban.  Cubans don’t eat healthy.  Plain and simple.

I’ve gained lots of weight in the last  10 years and it has just been the worst struggle to loose it.  My mom has always lovingly and sometimes not so lovingly reminded me that I have to loose weight.  But, while she lived with me and did most of the cooking, every meal included a side of rice.  Even if we had spaghetti, there was always rice.  Most times there was beef, fried.  And the vegetables are very starchy like yucca, malanga or fried like the plantains.  That is a Cubans idea of vegetables.  Breakfast is Cuban bread (made of lard)  with lots of butter slapped on it and a cafe con leche (milk n coffee).  So even though I don’t like to make excuses, can you see why it was a struggle to loose a single ounce??

Anyway, lunch today was yellow fried rice with pork.  I get a headache when I eat pork.  She knows that.  It was delicious and I devoured it. All of it. Had seconds.  There was some lettuce and avocado salad, fried plantains and boiled plantains.  I devoured it.  All of it.  A glass of rose wine, mango for dessert and finished it all off with a shot of cuban coffee.  I think I licked my plate clean.  I didn’t want to remind her that I was on any kind of diet and didn’t want to hurt her feelings, so I ate all of it.  I think I already said that.

fried yellow rice, pork, salad

fried yellow rice, pork, salad

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

boiled plantains...delicious

boiled plantains...delicious

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

some wine

some wine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cafe cubano...mmmmmmm

cafe cubano...mmmmmmm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After that yummo lunch, one of those crazy, daily, summer storms came flying through.  We sat on the rocking chairs out on the screened porch just watching the mini hurricane that came thru.

mini hurricane coming thru

mini hurricane coming thru

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the storm, we went to check out the damage and a few branches had been knocked down off the huge palm trees. lUNCH AT TATAS

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mom went to inspect the back area to check for more damage.  I had on some cute shoes and was not about to get them wet in those puddles.LUNCH AT TATAS 014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mom braved the 3-4 inches of puddles to go get some downed mangoes.  I wasn’t about to get those cute shoes wet and muddy, so I watched and took some pics.

mom looking for downed mangoes n avocados

mom looking for downed mangoes n avocados

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mangoes

Mangoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ripe avocados for guacamole tomorrow

Ripe avocados for guacamole tomorrow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I got back home I had to get ready to go out with my sisinlaw.  We had a nice dinner at the English Pub and a nice glass of Merlot at the Grape Merchant to celebrate our birthdays this past week.  No pics, we devoured it all!  Victoria’s Secret was still open and I got some of this yummy scent.

Noir ....mmmmmmmm

Noir ....mmmmmmmm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m so happy with the eating choices I’ve made this week.  By not being on a “diet” I don’t have to feel guilty or like a failure when days like these present themselves.  I can simply enjoy.  I didn’t work out today because yesterday’s workout left me with a VERY sore butt, but will definitely get some exercise in tomorrow.  Hope you have a blessed day!

Eat well, live long!  Martica

1 Comment

  1. 20lbsgone said,

    September 12, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Keep up the good work Martica and keep up the good attititude. I’ve lost 9.5 lbs in 4 weeks so I know how difficult it s to keep your eating on track. I hope you will continue to check my progress on my “20 lb stuggle”.


Leave a Reply

