Tomorrow, 47 and counting

I’m bummed.  Tomorrow’s my birthday.  I’m not bummed because it’s my birthday, but because I’m still not back to feeling 100%.   I want so badly to go out and have a nice meal but still feel a bit queasy.  I’m hoping that since today was the last of the antibiotics, that my tummy will go back to normal soon. 

My birthday usually falls on or near Labor Day Weekend. Living in South Florida, there is usually a hurricane lurking around nearby on this weekend.  I remember a few years back when I spent my birthday locked up in my shuttered house with some family that was staying with us.  That was  probably the worst birthday ever.    But all in all, I can’t and won’t complain because I have been fortunate enough to have lived a pretty great 46 years so far.

The last 17 years have flown by since my son was born.   And before that, well, I don’t even remember my life before him, but Idid have one.  Next year, he will turn 18, hopefully start college and start his adulthood.  Which leaves me trying to figure out what the next phase of my life will be like.  I would love to travel again.  (note to self- get job so can travel again).   I miss being on cruise ships, visiting the Caribbean, venturing around Europe,  jet skiing in Maui.  See, I actually did have a life before him. 

So that’s where my thoughts are tonight……far away. 

My first trip to Europe. I was 15.

My first trip to Europe. I was 15.

Leave a Reply

