Sleep’s been my friend this week

I’ve finally been able to SLEEP! For longer than an hour at a time.  While the cough was at it’s peak there was just no way to fall asleep.  I kept looking at the clock every hour on the hour.  But since I’ve been taking the antibiotic, using the inhaler and my VERY VERY favorite…..Robitussin with Codeine, I have slept thru an entire night and thru noon.   

My appetite is getting back to almost normal.  Though the portions I’m eating are still small.  Today I had some chicken with chopped tomato and cucumber with a little olive oil drizzled over it, and a few grapes.  Been drinking lots of Gatorade (which I don’t really care for) to rehydrate. 

Light lunch-chicken, tomato,cucumber and grapes

Light lunch-chicken, tomato,cucumber and grapes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This bout with bronchitis has been a good reminder of why I want to continue to make it a daily habit to eat healthy.  The thought of processed food right now grosses me out.  I think we’re going to face a tough winter and I want my immunity to be at a peak.   Grocery shopping’s actually so much easier now.   Lots and lots of veggies, fruits, nuts, and protein.  I think I’m going to start eating tofu for more protein, because I don’t eat much meat, and want to cut back on eating so much chicken. 

groceries

groceries

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My biggest indulgence is probably this stuff!  I love it and use it to cook everything!

Tsangs spicy sauce

Tsangs spicy sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

         So next step is to fully recover and start exercising again.  Thank you Lord that I’m healing and my lungs are getting stronger each day.

Eat well, live long! 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. kim said,

    September 1, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    So sorry to hear you’ve been so sick! It seems like cold season came early this year. I’m glad you were able to get some sleep, and I hope you feel better soon!

    If you’re able to find it, Nature’s Way Samubucus (or any elderberry syrup) has really helped me keep off colds. I take 1 tsp a day in the summer and 2 tsp a day in the winter. And I just started taking Umcka and Oscillococcinum earlier this year when I start to get a flu or cold, and they both usually keep my symptoms from getting out of control if I take them early enough. Not sure if it’s something you’d want to check out.

    Feel better soon!

  2. martica said,

    September 3, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks Kim! I used to take Echinacea but stopped in the last year (not sure why). And I also have a chinese herbal solution that I take at the beginning of a cold but this cough just snuck right in there and took over. Thanks for the suggestions, I want to stock up on these kinds of goodies for this season especially.


Leave a Reply

