I’M SO NOT HAVING FUN! :(

I don’t want to gross you out with the gory details but it’s been an ugly week for me.  About 3 weeks ago I woke up with what seemed like the flu, but got over it.  However, the cough lingered a bit longer.  Last Tuesday, I woke up with a horrible, hacking cough and it’s been hell ever since. 

I coughed so much I was throwing up(sorry, gory details).  Eventually, I had to give in and go to the emergency room because my doctor couldn’t see me.  They ruled out pneumonia with a chest xray.  After they sucked all the blood out of my body (lots n lots of vials) and ran some tests, it was determined I have bronchitis.    So five hours later, while driving out of the hospital parking lot, I threw up the antibiotic I had taken.

After we got the meds prescribed, I went home (thank God my mom was with me) and just tried to get some sleep. The coughing had not let me sleep for a couple of days and I’m just exhausted. 

I’m the kind of person that doesn’t like to go to the doctor unless it’s ….well…no other alternative.  So I get home and take the Robitussin with CODEIN thinking that will help me sleep….but no…it makes me vomit.    Then I try the inhaler, and that made me feel jittery, although it did help  the cough.  I ate some crackers and some broth and again, had to vomit.   So, in a nutshell, that’s the kind of week I’ve had. 

Today I woke up feeling a bit dizzy.  I drank some warm broth (1/4 cup) and a cracker.  AND YAY, didn’t throw up.  I’m going to have a little gatorade in a little bit and see if that stays down.  If not, I’m going right back to the E.R. because I feel the dehydration symptoms coming on.

ON A GOOD NOTE  ?………lost 6 pounds this week!  The irony is that this past month I have eaten the healthiest ever and yet have been the sickest ever……go figure.

Not fun!

Not fun!

4 Comments

  1. Priscilla Castillo said,

    August 30, 2009 at 7:35 am

    I hope you feel better soon…I know that going to the doctor can be a drag, but that is why they are doctors… if after two or three days the symptoms persist, I would go to the doctor, even if I don’t like to because they are the ones who can determine what is going on… but at least you got your answer as to what this is that is causing all the coughing…

    But I do hope you feel better real soon..

    Take care,
    Priscilla

  2. martica said,

    September 3, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Thanks!! I am definitely feeling better and finally went to the doctor.

  3. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 5, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    it was a bad cold but my cold you gave me was worse
    :/

  4. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 5, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    also those are gory details and gross


Leave a Reply

