I’ve got herbs…..who knew??

My son’s girlfriend asked me the other day if I had any ‘rosemary’ so she could make him some tea.  I said…well, I know I don’t have any in the cupboard but let’s check the back yard.  You see, my mom is an avid planter, gardener.  For the 10 years she lived here with me she must have planted every fruit tree and herb you can think of.   We have a very, small back yard but still she managed to plant and grow Papaya trees, lemon trees (notice I’m using plural), banana trees, and some whose names I just don’t know.

She’s always made us teas from herbs in her garden, I just didn’t know what they were.  They were tasty, I drank them.  So Chelsea and I head out to the yard and start sniffing plants.  OMG! I have ‘rosemary’!!!!! A couple of bushes of them.  Who knew?? 

nice huh?

nice huh?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AND……lemongrass….this stuff makes the best tea.  It has a zesty lemony taste AND  has antibacterial and antifungal properties, but most important, it tastes really good, hot or cold.

zesty lemony smell and taste

zesty lemony smell and taste

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

my new found herbal teas

my new found herbal teas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There’s also some of this….but I don’t have a clue what it is..It has tiny white flowers, so If you know please tell me.  It smells a little tangy and I made some tea with this and the lemongrass. 

mystery herb

mystery herb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This next one smells yummy also, minty, lemony.  I didn’t want use it yet because for all I know I’ll be poisoning myself.   Here’s another mystery herb, if you know let ME know….

mystery herb #2

mystery herb #2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since I’ve been eating MORE veggies and fruits I was excited that I have papaya, banana and what looks like some kind of squash growing in……

PAPAYA

PAPAYA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BANANA TREE....almost ready

BANANA TREE....almost ready

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SQUASH???

SQUASH???

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, now I feel a little more obligated to go back there and keep an eye on these healthy munchies.   So, you avid gardeners, help me out and fill me in on what I have in my back yard.

Eat healthy, live long and plant an herb!

5 Comments

  1. Mirtha said,

    August 24, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Martha,

    Mystery herb #1, I think is mint, ot flat parsley. Take a leave to Publix and check it out! Good luck

    • martica said,

      August 24, 2009 at 7:00 pm

      Thanks Mirtha…I’m going to check it out…it smells minty, lemony.

  2. Debora said,

    August 24, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    I think mystery herb #1 is some variety of mint, maybe lemon balm, but I can’t say which sort without smelling/tasting it. #2 might be a kind of verbena, but as with most herbs the big identifier is the scent!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! :^)

    • martica said,

      August 24, 2009 at 7:39 pm

      Hi Debora,
      Thanks so much for the info! DING DING DING DING!! You’re right. I googled the lemon balm and that’s it!! and also the lemon verbena looks just like what I have.
      The lemon balm has so many great medicinal uses..for relaxation, insomnia, helps with chronic fatigue, and menstrual cramps. I got excited until I read the part that says it “stimulates the appetite”. So I’ll have to take it easy on the lemon balm. Thanks again Debora, I really appreciate the info. Blessings. Martica

  3. August 25, 2009 at 12:31 am

    Omg! this is so cool… its like a healthy jungle! well just wanted to thank you for coming back and visiting my blog. Please pass it on to everyone you know! thank you! and next time is PIZZA!!!


Leave a Reply

