It doesn’t take much to make me happy!

Yesterday I was expecting that I would be sore today, after the 52 minute dvd bootcamp workout. 

 I was right. 

But, only my butt is sore, which is great.  I must have really worked harder on that area. Great thing is that I felt good enough to finally start the “Couch to 5k” program today.  Today consisted of 20 minutes of  walking and running intervals with a 5 minute warmup walk before and after the run.  The goal is to be able to run 3.1 miles(5k)at the end of 7-9 weeks. I finished that and felt great, probably could have done more but didn’t want to push it.

Of course I had my 1/2 minibagel with spinach spread prior to the workout.   And after………I’m so excited, because this really turned out YUMMMO!!!  I made a mango-black bean salsa!  Can you say SUPER YUMMMO?!! Anyone that really knows me will tell you that I enjoy cooking but not for hours.  Unlike my mom who spends hours making stews, and preparing the most delicious croquettes you’ve ever tasted(a process that could take 2 days), I like to be in and out in 10-20 minutes tops.  That’s why I love stir frying, its quick, easy and tastes great.  Even better on my list is a no-cook recipe.  I revamped this recipe that I saw in a magazine and here it is:

1 ripe mango, peeled and diced

1 can black beans

1 can garbanzo beans

drain  and rinse both

chopped onion, tomato and cucumber

You’ll notice I don’t have measurements because I just kind of go with the flow…

Beans, garbanzos, diced tomato

Beans, garbanzos, diced tomato

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mango, onions, cucumber

mango, onions, cucumber

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. In a large bowl, combine the beans, onions, cucumber, and mango.

2. In a blender or food processor puree 1/3 cup mangos with olive oil and vinegar or (you can use  any Italian dressing)

mix all ingredients in a bowl

mix all ingredients in a bowl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HALLELUYA, HALLELUYA, HALLELUYA, HALLELUYA, HALLELUUUUUYYAAAAAAA!!

SOOOOOO GOOD!

pour on that mango dressing and enjoy!

pour on that mango dressing and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know this is not a new recipe but it sure tastes good.   The mango and onions taste so good, you may not need the dressing, but oh the dressing is yum!  Looks like this will be my new dish to bring to parties.  Scoop it up with chips, serve it as a side, top some spinach leaves for a great salad, or add some chicken and you have a hearty meal.

mango salsa over spinach

mango salsa over spinach

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eat well, live long and make some MANGO salsa!

5 Comments

  1. Jasvin said,

    August 21, 2009 at 3:46 am

    wow… ur recipe sounds yummy esp the mango dressing!! will give it a try!!

    • martica said,

      August 24, 2009 at 2:07 pm

      Thank you Jasvin, let me know when you try it!

  2. kim said,

    August 23, 2009 at 9:40 am

    this looks delicious! i like how you served it over a spinach salad. i don’t have a blender at the moment to make the dressing, but i’ll have to try the salad. definitely looks like a good summer pot-luck dish.

    • martica said,

      August 24, 2009 at 2:08 pm

      Thanks Kim! You really can it without the salsa because the mango releases a sweet juice and blends with the onions.

  3. August 24, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    […] next morning I saw Martha’s recipe for mango and bean salad (she gives me yet another reason to buy a blender – mango salad dressing), which I totally […]


Leave a Reply

