Oh no, it’s dead!

My treadmill has been with me over 15 years.  It’s lived in almost every room in my house, the garage (worst, too hot), my bedroom(used mostly to hang clothes), my mom’s bedroom, and the family room(my nephew plays on it).   I have on occasion used it for exercise purposes, actually clocking a few miles and my highest calorie count, 250.   Today is the beginning of a new relationship with my TM.  It’s going to be a big part of my weight loss journey and I’m excited.  

Im finally feeling good enough to start exercising again! YAY!  Since I’ve been sick with a cold for the last 10 days, I’ve been focusing more on my eating plan and recipes.  I’ve lost a couple of pounds so I’m excited, because I know that once I start to exercise, more will come off (despite Time’s article).  So I laced up my shoes, had my pre-workout snack (spinach dip), got my water bottle ready, ipod’s loaded, all stretched out, jumped on the treadmill…..and it’s not responding….NOOOOOOO!! 

God is this your way of getting me out of the house to workout?  Please, no, it’s 100 degrees outside!  You know I hate those DVD workouts!  But today I’ll have to resort to one.  Let’s see, I have a couple of “The Firm” cd’s….those kick butt!   Let’s try the “bootcamp maximum calorie burn”, oh yeah!   I’ll probably be really sore tomorrow….oh wait, wait, wait….that’s not a positive affirmation!  Cancel that thought.   Tomorrow will be a rest day, I’m sure :).

What this really means is that I will have to get my sleeping patterns to be more consistent.  When I get enough sleep, I can wake up early, before it’s too hot and go for a walk/jog.  Or, I could do it in the evening…who am I kidding, I don’t like to work out in the evening.  Morning, it is!  Well, part of any journey is adapting, and today I will have to adapt.  So off I go to burn some fat while jumping, hopping, squatting and lunging for the next 52 minutes.  Wish me luck!

What’s does your workout include?

Time to retire back to the garage

Time to retire back to the garage

3 Comments

  1. snowinsummer said,

    August 20, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    My husband and I belong to the local YMCA. We mostly use their fitness center for our workouts. I prefer to use the Eliptical and/or Arch Trainer (great for deep muscle workouts). Last year, we jumped onto the Spinning bandwagon and I lost weight and increased my cardio. In two weeks I’m going to start doing the Zumba workout. My obese cousin started it 2 months ago & so far, has lost 50+ pounds. Good luck & feel better!

  2. kim said,

    August 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I hear you on getting your sleep schedule to be more consistent. No matter how hard I try, it’s something I still struggle with every.single.day. Maybe I can get myself out of bed in time to do my morning stretches like I promise myself every night, too 😉

    Good luck! I hope you can find a routine that works! And I’m looking forward to hearing how this goes.

  3. Ryan Castillo said,

    September 5, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    i love this blog pretty funny when it died p.s. thanks for saying i play with your treadmill tia.


Leave a Reply

