Here’s to healthy eating!

Yumm hummus for the weekYou know you have no life when you get excited about what you ate and feel an urgency to blog about it.  It wasnt anything from a fancy restaurant or cafe, it was something really simple created in my own kitchen with my mini-cuisinart.  I love that thing.  I love hummus! It’s so easy to make yet so satisfying!  What Ive been doing is preparing hummus for the week and then adding it to whatever I can.  Last week, while making tuna I substituted the mayo with hummus and it was really yummy.  I get a can of chick peas ( I can just eat them out of the can), onions, garlic (love garlic) and lemon juice and blend it all up in the cuisinart.

my mini cuisinart chick peas,onions,garlic,lemon juiceall done..

 

 

 

 

 

 

WAIT THERE’S MORE!  I’ve also been preparing a spinach spread that’s also yummy and quick to make.  I use frozen spinach, lots of garlic cloves, and olive oil. Sautee it in a pan for a little bit and then blend it in the cuisinart…VOILA…a quick, energizing, healthy snack!

 

 

 

 

 

 

BLOG FOOD 006

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a real ‘pick me up’ snack for pre or post workout..(remember Popeye, instant muscles).  I toast whole wheat wraps, break them up in pieces and dip right into the spinach..add a dash of salt n pepper..

So here’s the best part, promise.  Today I wasn’t that hungy so I used 1/2 of a whole wheat wrap, spread some hummus, spinach dip, added leftover chicken and carrots and OMG!!! it was soooo yummy.  You taste so many different flavors, the garlic, onions, lemon juice all blend so nicely!  And I bet this quick little meal is under 300 calories.

4 Comments

  1. Priscilla Castillo said,

    August 13, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    That sounds awesome.. I have to try that soon.. I have only discovered chick peas about six months ago.. they are really good! I love them in salads… 🙂

    • martica said,

      August 15, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      I love chick peas, one of my aunts makes the best garbanzo stew ever! I also add them to salads!

  2. Marlene said,

    August 15, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Hi Martica, what a wonderful blog….your love for writing is showing…I love it! I’m going to try your receipes…they look yummy. luv ya

    • martica said,

      August 15, 2009 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Marlene!


Leave a Reply

