Eat well, live long!

Would you want to live to the ripe old age of  125 or maybe 150? Well, some experts on longevity seem to think you can.   I was reading in “BEWELLBUZZ” about  an 86 year old man who is still healthy, energized and has the mind of someone much much younger.   Oprah interviewed him and this is what he says his secret is: large quantities of fruit and vegetables, plus an hour of daily exercise(he lives on a farm) .  Simple enough, I think, minus the farm.  I like some veggies and after reading the report from the North Carolina Research Campus  I will be adding  more variety to the veggies I eat.   That campus studies the health benefits of fruits and vegetables. 

Here’s some of the healthiest foods on the earth, according the them:

Pineapples, blueberries, apples, bananas, papayas, blackberries, kiwi, oranges, raspberries, strawberries and many more fruits.  As far as veggies:  Broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, kale, green cabbage, asparagus, spinach and red bell peppers.  My favorites, mangoes are on the list. Mangoes support immunity, lower “bad cholesterol”, among many other great qualities.  Did you know that Butternut squash and Kiwi ‘combat wrinkles’??  And Papayas and Bananas ‘enhance fat burning’!!!  Definitely will be eating more of those. I actually have papaya trees in my back yard.

So there you have one of the secrets to a long healthy life. 

Eat well, live long!  Martica

This is my stash of fruitsmy stash of fruits and veggies

 

veggies: carrots, broccoli, mushrooms and frozen spinach

4 Comments

  1. Mercy Cabrera said,

    August 12, 2009 at 12:32 am

    I am so happy that we are connected thru the web.
    Now that I unsubscribed from The Herald I have something interesting to read & comment!!!!! Love it !
    When are you going to cook for your readers ? or it is only pictures of food ?
    YOU are doing a great Job ! very talented !
    Power Ranger Mercy

    • Martica said,

      August 12, 2009 at 2:18 pm

      Thanks Power Ranger!! That’s a great idea…we should get together and make some healthy fun dishes!

  2. Keisha Rahming said,

    August 12, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I loved this entry. It is well written and you included sources. Wonderful! By the way, there is a picture of a mango, and I didn’t recieve a phone call to come and collect my mangos???!!!!???

    • Martica said,

      August 12, 2009 at 2:17 pm

      ARE YOU JONESIN’ FOR A MANGO??? Keisha, I didn’t get any mangoes this week. Well, at least not enough to give away. I went to my mom’s on Saturday but I didn’t feel good and just grabbed a small bag to last me for the week.


Leave a Reply

