Some history

My issues with weight began…..well, Im not really sure exactly.  I mean in High School I wasn’t stick thin, I was curvy, yet  not fat.  My C cups came in when I turned 12 and the curves attacked my body.  In my  20’s I was definitely thin, but who wasnt?  I was going to work, happy hour after work, which turned into all night happy hours!  Got a couple of  hours of sleep, didnt eat much and went back to work. I was in the travel industry and was gone a lot.  Most of my friends were in the travel biz and so we were always on a plane, a cruise, a hotel and out of Miami.  Im surprised that being on all those cruises didnt fatten me up.  I truly enjoyed my 20’s, I looked good and felt great. 

I had my son when I turned 30 (just like I always wanted.)  I gained 32lbs during my pregnancy but figured the baby would weigh 8lbs or so (said the doc) and the rest would be placenta that got sucked out!  Didnt happen that way.  Hunter weighed 5lbs, he was teeny and the rest was not sucked out, it stayed with me.  I did loose that baby fat pretty quickly though.  However, I made a HUGE, HUGE mistake by taking some diet pills (Phen-Fen) when I actually didnt need to.  Those pills made me really sick and after I got off them, the weight just started to pile on.  And pile on, and on.  I think 75% of the weight was going to my boobies and I reached a letter of the alphabet that no woman should carry around on her chest.   I had my breasts reduced in 2000 (7lbs of tissue came off).  I was caring around the equivalent of a new born baby, no wonder my back was killing me.   And well, its been a battle ever since. 

Ive never been very active, I love sports but as a spectator mostly.  And working in desk jobs for 10 years didnt help any.  But all of that is behind me now. 

My biggest motivation for this journey has been my mom and my aunt.  My mom is 74 years young.  The woman just doesn’t stop, definitely an energizer bunny.   But my aunt, same age almost is the complete opposite.  My mother loves gardening and let me tell you that’s a workout!  She goes to the gym 3 times each week and recently started doing yoga and loves it.  She’s found love in her 70’s and is just loving life.  I couldn’t be happier for her.  My aunt however, does nothing.  Sits in a rocking chair most days watching novelas and every bone in her body hurts.   Sooooo, I want to start now and get myself healthy, strong, energized so that in my 70’s (God willing) I can be the hottie that my mom is.

It really is more than just about diet and exercise  It’s a lifestyle change.  My goal is to lose 59 lbs!  YIKES!  I want to run in the 5k’s not walk.  I want to play tennis again. I want my body to feel good inside and out.  So with the Lord’s help, I will do this.

I invite you to join me in this journey. Your support will mean so much to me.  Blessings! Martica

3 Comments

  1. Priscilla Castillo said,

    August 7, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    I totally understand what you mean when it comes to weight related issues.. I mean now I am trying to lose like 60 lbs.. most of it is medical weight with all the chemo and steroids pumped into my system and the rest was anxiety.. but I agree with you.. it is good to be healthy in both mind and body.. and I have started going to the gym myself for about a month and I already see the results where I have lost a whole dress size! Iwent from a size 14 to a size 12.. so I know that is motivation for me.. if you can get a chance to, I would suggest to go to one as well.. don’t put any restrictions or major expectations on yourself because if it doesn’t happen or come to fruition, then you will get discouraged.. just let it happen naturally, on its own and let nature take its course..

    In the meantime, keep journaling!! I think it’s a great idea and it lets out all your innermost thoughts-whether they be positive or negative-out of your system and this way you won’t have to hurt and/or KILL anyone.. lol (just kidding) That is what Ido with my songwriting.. just let all those emotions out!! LOL

    This is a great medium.. happy journaling!!!!

  2. Eva Williford said,

    August 7, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I just started power walking and exrcising this week. I am the only “fluffy” one in my house. My husband, Bill does the cooking and he prepares some great healthy meals. He has lost about 25 lbs. gradually over the past few mths. and has also been exercising at the gym 4x/wk. My daughters are competitve swimmers so they are in great shape. Now it’s my turn to step it up and get in shape. I have been reading alot on the subject but now I’m getting into action. I spoke to some of the girls at work so that we can encourage each other. I think the key to weight loss is diet, exercise, and rest. I always would sleep only 5 hrs. per night until recently I read that your body needs at least 7-9 hrs. of sleep every night. Hormones are released when you sleep that help your body function well. Now I’m going to bed earlier. Keep journaling — this is great!

  3. martica said,

    August 19, 2009 at 1:49 am

    Eva, you’re so right about the sleeping. I need to be more consistent with my sleep patterns and amount of sleep. I’ve always been more of a night owl and I get a second wind at night but I have to figure out a way to go to bed at the same time each night. When I start exercising regularly, I’m sure I will be pooped and in bed!


Leave a Reply

