Winter food in the tropics

I remember as a kid hating our Miami winters.  All of a sudden we’d have to wear bulky sweaters (which we didn’t own many of), or just pile on lots of layers of clothing and the trips to the beach stopped.  My mom never let us use the heater because of some kind of fire phobia she had.  I guess I just didn’t realize or appreciate that we lived in paradise and those “winters” only lasted a few days anyway.  But when you’re a native tropic (born in Cuba) and the weather drops below 60, well, that’s cold! 

On that note, I’m SOOOOO looking forward to the temperature dipping into the 50’s this Friday, Yippeeee!!  I’m walking and starting to jog more, and therefore really welcome that weather change. Not to mention, that I can wear my cute boots, if I can find them.   And, now that I’m such a foodie, unless it gets a little bit chillier I don’t want to mess with “wintery type foods”.  Last week I did make an attempt at cooking (well microwaved) an acorn squash….and stuffed it! (it’s a winter food)

ACORN SQUASH

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used to think these were mostly used for decorating, but they’re actually quite tasty.  It has a mild, sweet flavor and acorn squash is loaded with Vitamin A, C, pottasium and is a great source of fiber.  Research shows that squash may have anti-cancer type effects.  For those of you with Asthma, nutrients like Vitamin C may be able to reduce the severity of asthma-like conditions.  So eat some squash because its packed with Vitamin C. 

Before cooking the squash, I poked it 5-6 times with a sharp knife, kind of like you would do with a potato before putting it in the microwave.  The squash went in the microwave for 8 minutes.  Then I let it sit for about 5 minutes.  While it’s being nuked cooked, I was sauteeing some Boca meatless crumbles (looks like ground beef).    When the squash cooled a bit, I cut it in half and scooped out all the seeds and the stringy fibery stuff.

SQUASH

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SQUASH

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once the seeds were out, I filled the squash with the meatless crumbles and topped it with fat free cheese. 

SQUASH

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My crumble stuffed acorn squash was a tasty, very lo-cal (under 200 calories) and high protein quickie meal(under 15 minutes). 

So eat well, live long, and try some squash! even if it’s 80+ degrees outside!

8 Comments

  1. Martica said,

    November 12, 2009 at 12:13 am

    I still can’t figure out the relevance between some of the “possibly related posts” that wordpress lists at the end of my post.
    “Things white people suck at”…..??????

  2. November 12, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    We’re loving this “cold” weather here in Houston. It really does make me crave autumn flavors, and your squash looks gorgeous!

    • martica said,

      November 13, 2009 at 12:19 pm

      It’s BEAUTIFUL today in the 50’s! Thankyou!!

  3. Sortachef said,

    November 13, 2009 at 2:27 am

    Try these with mole, on rice and with hulled pumpkin seeds, as I put in a recipe on Foodbuzz. I think you’ll enjoy it!

    • martica said,

      November 13, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Don, thanks for the recipe. It looks beautiful and tasty. I haven’t had mole since our Mexican neighbors moved away..long time ago

  4. November 13, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Acorn squash is so great, and it accepts so many flavor additions such as yours here too!

    Regards,
    CCR =8~)

  5. Karine said,

    November 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    That is a great way to use squash! Thanks for sharing :)

    • martica said,

      November 18, 2009 at 10:45 am

      ThankYOU for checking out my blog!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

